Marvel Studios, LLC (originally known as Marvel Films from 1993 to 1996) is an American motion picture studio based at The Walt Disney Studios in Burbank, California and is a subsidiary of Walt Disney Studios, itself a wholly owned division of The Walt Disney Company, with film producer Kevin Feige serving as president. Previously, the studio was a subsidiary of Marvel Entertainment until The Walt Disney Company reorganized the companies in August 2015.

Dedicated to producing films based on Marvel Comics characters, the studio has been involved in three Marvel-character film franchises to have exceeded one billion dollars in North American revenue: the X-Men, Spider-Man, and Marvel Cinematic Universe multi-film franchises. X-Men and Spider-Man and other Marvel franchises are licensed out to 20th Century Fox and Sony Pictures, respectively. Marvel Studios’ films are currently distributed theatrically by Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures; Paramount Pictures from 2008 to 2011; Universal Pictures for The Incredible Hulk; and Columbia Pictures for Spider-Man: Homecoming scheduled for release on July 7, 2017.

Comics Explained